Jewish Roots in Spanish Foods - Cooking Class Majorca, Spain 4 Part Series - PART 4

Time of the tour

Sunday December 6th @ 4 pm EST, 3 pm CST, 1 pm PST 

11 pm ISRAEL, 10 pm EUROPE, 9pm UK time

About the tour

During the Inquisition, the Crypto-Jews or Chuetas publicly professed Catholicism while privately adhering to Judaism. Synagogues were secretly built in private homes. Signs of this “secret” community can still be found today with many of the current jewelry shops having been kept within their families for generations beforehand.

Come on a culinary adventure as we take a cooking class with one of the members of the Majorca Jewish community. We will discover some Jewish roots in the local gastronomy on the island today. Bring your apron as we will send out the recipe in advance so you can participate with us! Make sure to have a lovely glass of Spanish red or white wine as we cook together!

In his new and cutting-edge virtual tour, Dani Rotstein brings his wealth of Jewish informal education straight to your living room, pulling back the curtain on the Spanish island’s secret Crypto-Judio and Converso history. Don’t miss your chance to discover a unique 600 year-old community, one that the global Jewish world is helping bring back to life!

Subscribe to our newsletter