Kibbutz Hannaton: Renewing the Old, Sanctifying the New

Time of the tour

Feb 11th 9 a.m. PST/12 noon EST/7 p.m. Israel

 

About the tour

Kibbutz Hannaton: Renewing the Old, Sanctifying the New
with Anat Harrel 

Feb 4th 6 p.m. PST/9 p.m. EST/ (Feb 5th) 1 p.m. Melbourne
Feb 11th 9 a.m. PST/12noon EST/7 p.m. Israel

Nestled among the hilltops of the Lower Galilee, Hannaton is the only Jewish religious, multi-denominational, egalitarian, intentional community kibbutz in Israel.

Established in the early 1980’s by the Conservative Movement, Hannaton began a fascinating renewal in 2008 becoming a unique, privatized yet socialist kibbutz.

Kibbutz Hannaton members work closely with their Israeli Arab neighbors, lead social action, educational and leadership causes and include eleven male and female rabbis among their families.

Take a walking tour through the kibbutz. Discover the Lower Galilee, learn the history of the kibbutz movement, step into the one synagogue where everyone prays together and visit the unique mikveh on site. We will even walk past the winery and see the cows!

End the tour at the home of kibbutz member Reut Tzohar, professional baker and chef, who will teach us how to make several versions of an Israeli culinary hit, the Sabich.

Ingredients for preparing the Sabich will be emailed when you sign up, but no worries, you can enjoy the tour and
make your Sabich later.

Subscribe to our newsletter